INTERDISCIPLINARY CENTRE FOR ARISTOTLE STUDIES A.U.TH. The International Association for Presocratic Studies (IAPS)

& The Interdisciplinary Centre for Aristotle Studies, AUTH (DIKAM)

> Cordially invite you to the Opening Ceremony of the Fourth Biennial Conference of the International Association for Presocratic Studies

Monday June 30, 2014 Main Ceremony Hall of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

17:15-21:00

On behalf of the Board of DIKAM Professor Demetra Sfendoni-Mentzou President On behalf of the Council of IAPS Professor Richard McKirahan Conference Organizer

PROGRAMME

OPENING CEREMONY

Welcoming Remarks

Co-Chairs Demetra Sfendoni-Mentzou Richard McKirahan

Professor Yannis Mylopoulos Rector of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

Robert P. Sanders Consul, U.S. Consulate General in Thessaloniki

Professor *Miltos Papanikolaou* Dean of the Faculty of Philosophy

Professor Spyros Pavlides Dean of the Faculty of Sciences

Professor Daniel Graham President of the International Association for Presocratic Studies

Professor Demetra Sfendoni-Mentzou President of the Interdisciplinary Centre for Aristotle Studies

Conference Session

Co-Chairs: Daniel W. Graham Demetra Sfendoni-Mentzou

Oliver Primavesi Professor of Greek Philology Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, München Recipient of the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize-2007 Pythagoreanism in Empedocles' Physics

Yannis Seiradakis Professor of Astrophysics, AUTH The Antikythera Mechanism: An astonishing ancient Greek astronomical computer

Demosthenes Davvetas Professeur Intervenant of Philosophy of Art, IESA, Paris Writer, Artist Heraclitus and Contemporary Art

Concert

"Yannis Mantakas", Aristotle University Choir Conductor: *Petros Bekiarides* Greek Music: From ancient Greece to the present day Soprano: *Anastasia Metallinou* Piano: *Sakis Kontonicolas*

RECEPTION